Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Family thanks searchers looking for missing boy

Family thanks searchers looking for missing boy

WICHITA, Kan. (KSNW – The family of the 11-year-old boy who went missing in Gypsum Creek Friday evening publicly thanked those searching for the child Sunday afternoon.

They’ve been looking for several days now.

Rain again today. I did manage to get some mowing done yesterday. The front yard, however, looks a bit shabby. Very bad in fact. That is the area I haven’t mown for eight days now.

Never mind. It’ll turn hot and dry soon enough.

One of the Dove folks – those recorded thingies I’ve written of before – got himself a barking dog recording. One of his favorite things is to turn it on across the street from my front door. The young fellow that owns one of them lives four or five hundred feet west of me.

Anyhow, the fellow turned on the dog a week or so ago. It didn’t bother me so much at two in the morning as it does the village councilor that lives directly across the road from the young man.

That councilor comes to me complaining about my dog barking and I point out he needs to listen to the dog. He wanted to know what I was talking about and I pointed out the dog only barked in a certain pattern and tempo.

The young man hasn’t come across the road to sound off lately.

However . . .

Last night I went out about two-thirty a.m. and the dog barked, and I stayed out awhile. The dog kept barking, because I kept moving in and out of its sensor range. And it barked, and finally came back in.

After coffee I went out and heard the young man over there letting me know he knew I was out and about.

I was disappointed.

The dog didn’t bark again.

But the Dove coo’d.

_______

From the Reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

