Wednesday, March 09, 2016

That stuff falling from the sky Tuesday? It’s called ‘rain’

It wasn’t much, but Tuesday’s rain was nevertheless notable. The .05 of an inch that fell was the first measurable precipitation in Wichita in nearly five weeks. Nothing more than a trace had fallen since .34 of an inch was recorded on Feb. 2. Less …

Just as I thought I might be the only person in the world to notice the lack, I’m shown that I’m the only one complaining about it.

I’ve noticed that the favoritism shown the beard, on males, thank you, and recent events – like Favre and his “Getting his groom on” advertisements have shown me the cost of razors is the most persuasive argument.

My beard is a fuzzy muzzy affair, it itches, scratches, and flat out hurts. It makes me hold my head high and it ain’t all in pride, for sure.I usually keep it under control with hair clippers. You know, those electric thingy I give myself burr cuts with (and never shave my head, that expensive razor’s.

So, about sometime ago I started looking-at the No – No type of razor, or whatever it was all about getting rid of hair at will. Well, sir; it turned out that the No-No was a heat device. It fried the hair and ashed it. That would work, and does. I read reviews, not so hot, those reviews. And then  I made a mistake. I read the price.

Fine and well. Damn expensive, that.

I continued my research for a razor. You know, some alternative to Farve and his Groom. My beard grew. It is beyond the itchy stage now. Its reached the painful stage. Makes it tough to wash my face without half drowning, and all that soap I can’t quite get off dries sticky and snarky.

I’ve recently come across the Braun 9 xxxx razor. It works with Synch’ed heads, a sonic shaver. I mean, it sounds like it does a buzz job on ones beard. It’s attractive.

I mean, if a Doctor can turn Sonic’s on a woman’s belly and a fetus then it should be gentle enough for my mirror reflection, no? And I looked at the price. Scared hell out of me, but it was better than the NoNo. Not much, really, but . . . well, I fry chicken and am not sure frying my face hairs is any less painful than pulling long hairs from my nipples.

_______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

