Saturday, January 09. 2016

I hate to admit it, but I’m anxious. I woke up with visions of yellow helmets with that silly ‘G’ logo.

Yeah. The Redskins play the Packers.

I am happy  to report that I woke pounding on that silly helmet – with a football. Frozen. With a handle that fit my hand perfectly. Still Rogers can throw the football and has, with some success. He has been playing like an aged QB lately. That’s good.

Ever hear of Ancestry DOT com? Umm. Yeah. I know you have and you’ve seen those ad’s on TV doing the DNA business.

There was an article posing the question of the Government taking over the DNA data bank of Ancestry and using that, and other such banks, as a registrar for all things wonderful to the government tracking of citizens.

I thought of using that service one time – just before reading that article. I’m not sure I want that hanging about, anywhere.

I mean, what if I won the Lottery and wanted to disappear and my many wives and girlfriends and all those kids that must be there wanting their cut; after the government holds me up with threats of IRS and forty years without sunlight, of course.

And there’s that stupid DNA data bank hanging about and some waitress slipping my used fork to the local sheriff that maybe wants a cut of my concealed treasure and I’ve told him to bug-off and, anyway, someone gets that data bank idea and I’m open to blackmail.

Figuring, you see, that a million or so is cheaper than a percentage split with me having to pay the lawyers.

Fiction, Right?

Right

This headline is on a local paper:

Long Lost Sisters Reunited After Nearly 50 Years

Yup. You’re correct. Ancestry DOT com did that.

What the hell possessed those two women to both enter their DNA, who knows. But they’’re happy the match was made.

Me?

Well. I MIGHT hit the Lottery. I mean, it’s possible.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

