Friday, January 01, 2016

And we’re off.

I noticed, first thing after turning on the computer, that Windows Wall paper page isn’t telling me that it is 2016. Probably it is afraid to turn the page. Silly program. It should be celebrating the shortening of the Democratic presidency.

Oh! Wait. Silicon Valley is democratic. They’ll lose a real bum from the white house. Maybe they’ll elect a real liar this time around.

That’s my hate mongering for the morning. I’ll get better at it as the day wears on and I get more grumpy.

I mentioned a few days back that the incidents of residential break-ins and robberies seemed to be increasing. I put it down to economy and the permissive attitude of the Federal Government.

This showed up in the aggregator this morning:

Ark City police warn about uptick in property break-ins

KAKE
– ‎15 hours ago‎

ARKANSAS CITY, Kan. (KAKE) — Arkansas City Police are warning residents about an alarming jump in property break-ins. Several thousand dollars worth of valuables has been stolen from dozens of victims in just the last two months.

This morning is relative, I suppose. I work my time, the aggregator works its.

I’m not sure that the suggestion of dollars and dollars of profit for the thieves is a good idea, but we do have a  lot of wealthy poor. All those years of shopping to you drop, one could say.

Which brings to mind, just where the hell do these people download all the crap they take? Years back I asked a couple of thieves where they did it and they told me across the state line in OK.

I did have one thief steal a Mickey Mouse wind up clock from me. Actually there were three working as a team. I didn’t know them for thieves at the time. One, a female, and her boy friend double teamed me, distracting my attention with  a broken chain saw. I was into fixing those things at the time.

The third, as I figured out later when I found he owned an auction/antique business, did the exchange of clocks. His routine MM clock for my antique.

And yeah, they were friends of near neighbors and into the dope.

Years later, after it became known the dude was a pretty good thief, I had occasion to drift by the nearby town the guy lived in and found that his house had burnt down. His parents home, right next door, about twelve feet away, didn’t burn. Wasn’t even scorched, in fact.

Heck of a climate to live in. The most terrible part of it is, I’m getting use to it.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

