Friday, December 11, 2015

I can think of many places I’d rather find trouble:

Southeast High School will have extra security on hand Friday after a threat was discovered in a school bathroom, district officials said Thursday night.

Terri Moses, executive director of safety services for Wichita public schools, said she could not specify the nature of the threat or when it was discovered.

A student discovered the threat and reported it to administration, according to a news release from the district.

Read more here: http://www.kansas.com/news/local/education/article49154320.html#storylink=cpy

I went out shopping yesterday – actually the dog ran out of food and needed some. I’m not much for feeding a dog my steak and egg breakfasts, you understand. I haven’t many of those and, well, sharing seems pitiful.

It occurred to me, somewhere between the Dollar store, where I was to purchase pillow cases,  where I discovered that they no longer sell pillow cases separately from sheet sets, and the Farm and Ranch store where I would purchase Dog’s food, that I could use a music stand – for sheet music.

I pulled over so I could mull the correct order of purchases. Dog food wouldn’t rot in the sun, but people food could. More specifically, the candy I was planning on buying for me would.

I decided, therefore, to do the Dog’s food, then my tobacco, then the music stand – and there I ran into a problem.

Reviewing the options for music stands in the town I was in was a bit of a problem (little did I understand that I was entering the Twilight Zone, even so). I had, I figured, two options for the stand.

The local High School or the County Seat Furniture store.

The store was in ore direct line with my shopping path so I opted for it, and carried on my planned route.

I did fine for the dogs food, not too bad for the tobacco, and then made a wrong turn on a One Way street and ended at the grocers (force of habit, really. I usually use that route, the furniture store being on the way home from there).

I eventually arrived at the furniture store and found a young man resting on his laurels on the tail gate of the company truck. He asked me what he could  do for me – puffing on his cigarette, and flicking ashes into the gutter.

I asked if he worked at the store, and he assured me he was “minding” the store, the owner being three stories up, working on the roof. So I told him I was looking for a music stand.

He immediately hauled out a smart phone and called the owner and told him someone was on the sidewalk looking for a music stand, and hung up. Owner will poke his head over that portion of the roof and talk to you, he said.

I waited.

The owner did poke his head over. I spoke my need for a music stand and he asked me to wait.

I waited.

The owner appeared and explained that he had one music stand and was working on the roof of the building while the weather was good and we would soon run out of good weather for working on the roof and . . . well, you understand how important it is to have a good roof when bad weather was threatening.

That in December, after a summer of wonderfully draughty heat. Never, I suppose, work on roof’s in hot weather, only seventy degree weather.

Yes, I said, I understand. I only want a music stand.

For sheet music the keeper of the truck tail gate spoke up.

Oh., said the owner. I thought you wanted a place for DVR, TV’s and Disc players.

Uh, to me, I said, that’s an entertainment center. I want just a music stand.

I don’t have one. So sayeth the owner.

We have one at the church, sayeth the tail gate sitter.

Mmm. Suppose, the owner said, that I give you a business card and YOU call ME, next time you come to town and I’ll get the stand from the church and make sure it is useable.

Which card I duly received and I left.

I still have problems. I ran into a generation gap – a music stand isn’t a music stand anymore. It’s a Sheet Music Stand. A  music stand is construed as a major piece of furniture that drags an owner three stories up down to talk with a customer.

Sigh.

All of that because Housekeeper laughed at me for dribbling spit on the dining room tablle while practicing the woodwind instrument.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey.

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

