Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Goodness, how depressing. I’m not unique. For years I’ve carped and carped about the educational system costing more than the average bad investment and even written fiction on how the system rewards scam artists.

Then I discovered this article in the State Capitals local rag. Which led to my non-uniqueness.

A government investigation into the nation’s second-largest for-profit higher education chain resulted in a settlement, allocating more than $1 million to forgive college loans for about 1,000 Kansas students, officials said Monday.

Education Management Corp., or EDMC, operates Brown Mackie College in Salina and Lenexa and The Art Institutes International in Kansas City, Kan., among a stable of 110 schools in 32 states and Canada. The corporation is based in Pittsburgh, and was accused of deceptive recruitment of students and of defrauding taxpayers.

They, damnit, got there firstest, with the mostest.

I’ve made a major adjustment to my winter plans. I’ve, for the last few years kept myself at home and read. You know, all those books one promised themselves, some day?

Well, that day came and I read all those books (some of which would have been best read before life got a hold of me). However, read they were, piled about the house in housekeepers way. I enjoyed them.

But, I’ve read them. This is now. I decided to take up a musical instrument I haven’t touched for years. Mmm, make that decades. My goal is to become proficient (to my satisfaction. Meaning without embarrassment). 

I made the arrangements for its inclusion in my home and bought the books to assist me and even before the first lesson started I discovered that years of easy living had done wonders for my self view of life.

I found that the top beer of my six pack wasn’t up to the chore I was asking. I hurt, still do after a week of exercise. Although I can sustain eight beats now, without turning purple.

And, I have no lip. My lip hurts. I cannot control the reed. I’m seriously contemplating a #1 reed. More than contemplating. I actually ordered some.

There is hope, however. Dog is no longer sitting at my feet with his head cocked waiting for the next squawk, and mis-cue. No. Now he goes into the bedroom and lies on the bed.

It should be noted it is the farthest room he can reach.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

