Friday, November 13, 2015

“I’m so damn tired of politics I could scream.” Housekeeper screamed. “Tired of them. I don’t want to hear anymore.”

I turned up the TV a bit, which was tuned to FOX News and which was discussing the recent debates. “Who are you voting for, Housekeeper” I asked.

Knowing that she is Democrat and hates the Hillary with a passion.

Silence.

I turned the TV back down. Damned if I’d be intimidated in my own home by a woman going through the “change”.

Renter has a housekeeper also. His housekeeper is the sister of near neighbor. That makes her an enemy of sorts. She is, of all her clan, quite possibly the cleanist of the bunch. Meaning she isn’t into drugs or alcohol. She reads this blog – perhaps suffers this blog would be a better choice of words, considering everything.

Now that has little to do with anything, except women talk, and so it was yesterday the cable for the internet and the TV was cut somewhere and that meant I had an old fashioned problem of amusing myself, rather than being amused.

I went for a long walk, then a small drive.

I met, briefly, a friend of Renters. That allowed the question of whether yesterdays post, written well before some unkindly sole cut my cable, was indeed true.

I recommended to this individual to read my bio. That explains everything that happens on these pages.

But, I added, I can tell you a secret that illustrates the point. The individual bit.

Did you know that I give out those Lottery scratch cards as gifts?

This person said that they sometimes did also. People seem to like that.

I agreed, and asked if this person I was in converse with knew that once you bought the card you didn’t have to scratch all that silver gunk off to find out if you had a winner?

They didn’t.

Well, I said, you can have the attendant run it through the scanner and you’ll know from the bar code on the back what the card is worth. I sometimes buy the cards as gifts and before giving them out I have the clerk do that for me.

That way, I explained, I don’t give away any cards worth much, you see. I keep those, and give away the”Free Card” cards, and the dollar cards. It works fairly well for me.

No~! cried the person.

Oh, yes. I’m not all that altruistic.

The person left in a huff.

But you know, well, have you ever considered two facts? Firstly;  each pack of cards you see a clerk loading into those pretty clear plastic racks contains a set number of ‘winners’. And secondly; if you look closely, you’ll find many loose cards in those racks.

Those loose cards are from the clerks folding the chain of cards so they can run the pack through the scanner, tearing out the major winning cards and keeping them and selling the loose, losing cards, to customers.

So, I mean, really, I’m the third scammer when I give out the cards as gifts. First the State who knows where each winning card is in any one run of cards, the second is the clerk that sells the cards.

I know. You son of a b. . . . .

Life is hard.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday, November 13, 2015

  1. Pauly says:

    Nice little hustle. I gotta try that this year! Hope, or the illusion of hope is a powerful gift.

Leave a Reply

