Monday, October 26, 2015

My tickle got fancied  this morning. I read a list of “10” things to know about this week. Number something (I know it was four . . . never mind) or other. I copied it.

I still haven’t determined which paper I was reading because the phone summoned my attention. I have one of those ancient things – a land line. Yeah. Hardwired I am. Anyhow, the phone rang and it hasn’t done that for a week or so. I disconnected it for a time.

The folks at Branson were bound and determined to award me some free this or that. I listened for a time the first call just to have ammunition to ream them with, after that I became impatient and rude.

Um. The fourth thing to know:

Because the movie “Halloween” (1978) was on such a tight budget, they had to use the cheapest mask they could find for the character Michael Meyers, which turned out to be a William Shatner “Star Trek” mask

Which reminded me that I haven’t prepared for the rugrats and curtain climbers to descend upon me this year. I’m never prepared for these events. They’re like birthdays. I have one every year and never forget which date is mine, but damned if I can gen up aniy enthusiasm for the event.

Matter of fact, I’ve not noticed any enthusiasm by the neighbors, either. Mostly, it seems, I get the stray neighbor inquiring about my health and saying things like: “Well, Old timer . . .”, which just crisps my buns, you understand.

I usually tell them to get a job and they wouldn’t have the time to insult the lawfully retired.

The best re – joiner to that comment was by a longtime acquaintance was he wasn’t without work, he was earning welfare.

I asked him what the hell he meant by that, he answered that if the government was taking tax dollars as income and investing them in various programs, he was then employed by the government to re-distribute the money about his community.

He was, he continued, thinking that as government employee’s were eligible to unionize of forming a union. He said that by forming a union of welfare recipients they could petition for retirement benefits at age fifty five, and long term, he suggested they would look into having the government give them retro active reimbursement of union dues, you understand, because they had to use welfare money to pay union dues. That and a retirement check for his work.

He did smile at the end. And he did point out that the welfare was not taxable at this time in this State.

I didn’t smile. I did tell him that being gainfully employed was a good thing, and life was good.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey  

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

