Friday, October 16, 2015

Watched the Saints and the Falcons last night. Good game. One of the sport announcers called the score before the game. Even named the winner.

A small story from the Wichita area:

French bistro will open in Wichita’s College Hill in two weeks

Wichita Eagle
– ‎50 minutes ago‎

Denise Neil has the latest Wichita restaurant news, with comings & goings, recent reviews, the question of the week and more. Georges French Bistro will open in the former Bella Luna Cafe space in College Hill on Nov. 2. Denise Neil The Wichita Eagle.

In case you visualize a Bistro as a bar/prelude to prostitution proposition, it is recognized as:

A bistro /ˈbiːstroʊ/, is, in its original Parisian incarnation, a small restaurant, serving moderately priced simple meals in a modest setting. Bistros are defined mostly by the foods they serve. French home-style cooking, and slow-cooked foods like cassoulet, a bean stew, are typical.

Of course, this isn’t France and College Hill isn’t Paris – ahem, quite.

About two weeks ago I checked the outstanding Spam catcher my ISP provides for my eMails.

About ninety percent of the stuff it catches it reads. To meet the rules it tells me. I haven’t a clue as to who wrote the rules nor what they are, but I accept the explanation and delete the report.

Anyhow, I scanned this report and there was a notice in there that it represented the second time one had been sent. The tone was sharpish, agitated and verged on the edge oof being an ass chewing by an editor.

(I’m not sure why that particular thought crossed my mind as I’ve tended to disregard editors long ago and simply feel acceptance or rejection is enough for  a piece one submits. Anything else is soul food for the editor. )

(That parenthetical aside above is not true, of course. Editors are a necessary evil. Ask anyone that’s published anything outside a blog. It is, however, a statement of inner feelings when it comes to me. My combative response to authority, and adversity)

.I deleted it.

Through my spam program, you understand.

This new letter used more elaborative language. It invited me to join a writing team and submit articles to the parental magazine, be placed in contact with publishers, ETC..

The problem, I gleaned, was the writer never told me WHICH magazine and told me that they had reviewed my blog and thought I should fill out the application form and submit it.

They also addressed me as a female.

They felt my insight into the female mind would be valuable to women everywhere.

I thought about that for awhile and rejected the idea when I arrived at the thought of a true woman asking me if she looked fat in this dress and I’d be very tempted to reply “Only when you sit on a soft couch, Dearie.”

Humph. Well, I have mentioned in many place, including the BIO, that I am male. Elder, but male.

So I took the insiders two letters the writer was using to extoll her magazine, and put it through Google. Google told me which magazine was being discussed and, friend writer, I don’t fit the bill to be advising females for much of anything.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey,

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

