Sunday, September 27, 2015

Before getting into Rant territory, or making more a sad sack of myself than normal, I’d best explain that time hangs heavy this past week.

Truly heavy.

I don’t mind going to church once in a while, or admitting I listen to gospel music at times, or listen to the occasional sermon from friends on my wayward behavior with grace and understanding.

But the Pope?

No. I ain’t that glorified nor touched by the Hand, you understand. So, I got away from the New Gospel channel (Fox News) and tried to fill the imput mode with something. This in spite of the local stuff being filled with local sport scores (indicative in itself of lack of exciting news) and things like:

 Vandal damages buildings, cars and signs in McPherson

I tried NASCAR Truck Races. I’d heard it all before.

(Usually during qualifying runs)

So the race wasn’t fun.

I tried College Football. That didn’t work. I didn’t a rivalry to rival. I couldn’t find a channel that had uniform combinations that pleased. That didn’t work well.

(Besides, Tennessee pissed me off terrible. And disappointed me to boot)

That meant that Sports channels were out; News channels were out; I don’t watch old movies, or slap stick serial Mayberry, which leaves out umpteen channels. And, Deity forbid, Gospel channels; and Weather channels bore me –  I’ve reached the point there of “Surprise me. I’d enjoy that.”.

You know where this is going, right? Right.

That left the Food Channel. Man, man. Has that channel changed or what. Sad. Sad.

It used to have a modicum of sophistication. I mean, cooks in slightly soilled aprons and neat hair, although some of them had gray grease under their finger nails.

Now? Lordy. People that claim to be poorest cooks, sometime cooks, Not Cooks, and cupcakes.

Desperation.

I found a book I’d purchased before the Kindle arrived. I hadn’t read it. Not even on Kindle.

I rejoiced.

I read it.

Yesterday.

All of it. All 623 pages of it. I even read the publishing right and copy rights pages.

Sigh.

Today?

I wait the games. Suffering the hype programs, hoping the Pope fly’s away soon. Trying to forget the New York Giants are, and the Redskins aren’t.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

