Wednesday, August 26, 2015

The TV is full of killings.

I turned to the various local sources of news. They, like wise, were full of shootings, stabbings, robberies and teens being  tried as adults for killing someone, somewhere.

I looked to Dog for sanity and he was sitting in the archway between living room and dinning room, growling softly at something.

That was a bit close to home, so I lined up behind his ears and sighted down his nose and he was looking at a living room window. Out the back door and around the corner and . . . Nothing.

Back inside Dog acted as if nothing out of the ordinary had occurred.

I believe I have reason to feel put out. Dog doesn’t speak to me much, you know, and there are times I wish he would.

Anyhow. I suppose I could turn the TV to another station, but I’m tired of hearing a football player has torn one part of his body or another. Not to mention the baseball player trying to kill spectators with foul balls and spectators with children in arms leaning over railings chasing the same.

For variety there are the deaths in auto’s and speedway accidents; and lawsuits.

Kids suing parents, students suing school’s (one local one a student suing over test scores).

You’ve heard of the teen running a car into a bunch of other girls, Yeah. Thought you might have.

Looked at the local court thingy in the local paper. 10 cases of teenage drugs and with intent to sell. Uh. Sixteen and seventeen would be a good range. One of them was twenty-four. She was married, with one kid.

No murders there, just robberies and drugs.

So. I tried soccer on FOX 1 Sports. I did. I needed a break from all the input. Flicked the switch and the channel changed to the game and I was just in time to see some dude get a Red Card.

Not even a yellow. A red. You know how many red cards are handed out? Ever?

Sigh.

I lay down for a morning nap.  Woke sweating. I know it is hot and all that, but not that hot. I don’t remember what woke me, a dream, I’m sure, and from my reaction of waking, not a good dream.

I thought I’d share all this with these pages. That way your day might go a tiny bit worse.

Mine? maybe  a tiny bit better.

Yeah.

I’m smiling. It’s school charm correct to share.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

