Wednesday, August 12, 2015

I’m very use to stepping out the back door and hearing — nothing.

It’s a thing about the country. It gets very quiet out there.

I’m also used to the TV nattering in my ears hour on hour. It’s a thing about my house. I keep the TV on. Most of the day, every day. Even when I’m out mowing grass or performing other chores outside the house.

It’s a thing about the manner in which I live. It gets very noisy inside at times.

Housekeeper has noted, from time to time, that I’m act  nervous when she is around the house. At first I denied it, then examined myself each time she showed up and eventually agreed with her. I do get nervous when she’s about.

I’m always reluctant to see her go, but relieved at the same time.

Why is he telling us all this garbage, you ask? Well, this morning the TV and the internet went down.  Both provided by the same provider.

That outside quiet I’m so used to came  indoors. An intruder. I’m not used to that. It was strange. I reacted to that quiet intrusion in the same manner I react to Housekeepers being here.

I got nervous.

I wondered if the stuff would ever come back.

I even, sitting here, wondered if the Kindle would give me my current book.

A hell of a thing.

I mean, there it was, sitting on the desk. Less than an arm’s length away. And I wondered it it worked. The light was on. That little green light it uses when plugged into a socket. Charged.

But the book, you understand.

But true to Housekeepers observations, I nervously paced, fidgeted and picked-up and put down.

And eventually, tried the TV, which turns itself off after losing signal for a period.

It worked.

The net was back.

The house was empty but for me, dog being outside, and noisy again.

My anxiety went away.

I don’t know what’s on the TV. I don’t care. It’s noisy.

I need to get out more was my first thought. But thinking it, I realized that getting to the coffee shop, going shopping, getting to the bar, and even going to work, is the same thing as the TV.

It’s the presence of other humans being around.

I’m okay.

You?

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

