Tuesday, April 14, 2015

Where to start.

Early morning: Co-Op showed with the truck and surveyed the tractor tire. The comment was made that the flat tire wasn’t the one we normally fuss with. An acknowledgement was rendered. Service man indicated he had to return to the shop as he needed another tool he hadn’t brought and he said that he probably wouldn’t be able to help me anyway. Seems he hadn’t a jack that would do the job. I volunteered my shop floor jack if he thought that would do the job on the slope. He figured his jack plate, being metal, would hold the weight.

Eventually, we got our minds and tools together and got the job done.

Then it was time for the main road barr ditch. We got that mowed and the recent rains made it almost impossible to fix a washed out area. BUT . . . that got done.

Next up? The tractor mower. It had thrown a belt after I hit a cattle trail in the tall grass. That bump certainly got my attention. Am having trouble with Renters woodcutter. The creature is leaving hedge tree parts all over the pasture. A little neater would be nice.

I went to the Co-Op to pick up two sixteen foot by fifty inch cattle panels. I took the tractor. The boys loading the fencing have seen a tractor, and they’ve seen cattle panels. They were just somewhat confused as to how they’d load two cattle panels on a tractor with a bucket and a mower.

I explained.

Took about three minutes to load once the idea sank in. Good men. They weren’t happy with me. Just stood watching like people at a disaster as I faded around a corner.

Got  home and was about to unload those cattle panels when I realized that dog wasn’t barking in joy at seeing me but at the car that had followed me.

Renters wife.

She was all about getting nice for the set to the other day. I just told her that not being married, I took it for granted that a wife speaks with her husbands voice when she speaks in her own yard and on subjects discussed with me by the husband. Of course, I’d told the Renter why I hadn’t gotten on with our agreement and he must have spoken with her.

She didn’t seem to understand what I was getting at. To bad,  but I’m not married and don’t want to de-code another set of signals and talk.

Like I said.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

