Wednesday, February 04, 2015

UPDATE: Wichita official: Snow arrived ‘at worst possible time’

A winter weather advisory is in effect until 6 p.m. Wednesday for 20 counties in central and southern Kansas, including the Wichita metropolitan area. More than 3 inches of snow is expected in a narrow band of

So, yeah, it’s ice and snow out there and Housekeeper refused to journey the miles today. Uh huh, I blame her. Of course, I’m a meany. I asked her, when she called to tell me she wasn’t coming, If I had to sweep my own damn floors, and she said I never do.

Now who’s the mean one?

Just ice and snow. Yesterday of a good thing. All of the previous ice and snow melted off and it was actually pleasant to walk about the yard. Even the neighbors dogs came out and played in Main Street.

Un-fortunately, there wasn’t much traffic.

I think I’m becoming negative. Cabin fever. Long winter. Although I have been eating well – at least a neighbor so tells me having watched me stow away the freezer grocery’s.

I had to remind him his freezer is three times as large as mine and that I’d helped him butcher five head of cattle to fill various freezers. I think, for all his defensive bluster thereafter, that he is feeling the effects of being winterized also. Even though he does get out to work during the week days.

Or maybe we are just spouting unfriendly remarks in concert with the average American citizen. Now, that’s a bad thought. Very bad.

So I got to remembering good things, you know. Like the day I drove a discontinued road. Thing about discontinued road around here is, they say the road beds must stay there, can’t be plowed or seeded over and the fences must be maintained along the length, but there will be no maintenance done on them.

I like those roads. Driving is a hazard but it is quiet on them and if you don’t mind the bushes scratching the sides of your vehicle you see some neat things. The one that came to mind was a hot, late, June day, no clouds. I noticed a Red Tail Hawk hovering above the road and got all the way to 1st gear while watching it.

Couldn’t understand what it was doing.

About the time I admitted ignorance, another hawk came straight up from the bushes and while that was climbing out the upper one side slipped twenty or thirty feet and dropped straight down from fifty or sixth feet into the bushes near the point of exit of the climber.

By the time the climber was dropping down the and the hoverer was climbing out, I had arrived at a point where I couldn’t see the current hoverer so I stopped and got out of the truck.

What those two hawks were doing was trying to catch a large cock pheasant that was running the under brush trying to escape the attentions of those two hawks.

It didn’t make its escape. The two hawks got a meal working in concert and dive bombed the pheasant to  death.

And I got a small lesson in just how not afraid of humans animals are if they are really busy on their own business, because the pheasant was within five feet of my door when the hawk laid into him and ended the chase.

Which pretty well fits cabin fever.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

