Tuesday, July 01, 2014

It doesn’t pay for me to rise early. Just doesn’t.

This morning I’m browsing the blog and realize that the last week of June was a bad week for my keeping track of dates. I suppose that isn’t a bad thing, in and of itself. It can be marginally acceptable. Well, in a sick sort of way.

Especially given that I made some fun of Housekeeper and my one year old calendar in a post during that lame time period last month. Fate biting the butt of superiority.

Having discovered I’m somewhat fallible, I tried to find an expression that would demonstrate my total indifference to such things (read, I tried to excuse my ways and maintain my errorless life.

“Never Mind” came to mind during the process. Then I got to wondering what does never mind really mean? I mean, . .  . well, II ‘m not really sure what I meant, but was, and am, convinced that anyone listening to the discussion would understand the phrase.

Soo, I web searched :Never Mind:. Some of what I found confused me, until I figured out that it was a phrase from a song, from some where, and I settled for the dictionaries definitions (You have ANY idea of how many dictionaries there are out there? Really. Why ionthere aderre free dictionaries that advertise themselves as FREE dictionaries (which leads one to question their definitions as opposed to purchased dictionaries, you understand) and found that most agree on one thing that confused me even more.

Most of the definitions emphasis the word NEVER. They do. So why do we use the word mind, I wondered. But the definitions place it as never ever, never. Why the mind then. Is the phrase meaning forget it, is the word . . .

Ahh, well, never mind.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

