Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I’m almost embarrassed to bring headlines to you.

Almost.

The headlines:;

Toilet seat – not teenage boys – found smoking in QuikTrip restroom

Read more here: http://www.kansas.com/2014/02/18/3296396/toilet-seat-not-teenage-boys-found.html#storylink=cpy

Whether or not you click through, you have the story. (Without smart remarks)

Finally received the heating bill – for two months. That was a pain. They seem to be getting everything settled for the new owners taking over on the Twentieth. The new owning company is hosting a village wide “Hello” BBQ on that day evening also.

I don’t see myself going to it, but everyone I’ve talked to seems to be making plans to attend.

Rather like going to  a party given by the hangman, really. Although most of the people laugh at me when I grump the new company has petitioned the State for a price increase aimed directly at the village. They say: “So what if they have, their prices will still be lower than the current owners.”

Which is a questionable shrug from me. The old owner and the new owners are still business people and numbers mean something – some times.

I’m in a funk. I ran errands this morning and one of the major tasks I was looking forward to was cashing in the penny jar for real cash (like dollar bills.)

I wanted to get rid of those pennies, I have a number of jars of them.

I found when I reached the last stop, the bank, I’d forgotten to load the penny jars. I think I’ll start using the penny tip thingies at the stores. I know, eventually, I’ll remember to load those stupid jars in the truck.

______

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

