Sunday, February 02, 2014

Here I sit, few hours prior to my most anticipated football game of the season, having listened to the hype all week, tired and dreading the game.

It reminds me of me of long ago. I was working two jobs, trying to complete some schooling and please a wife.

We hadn’t much furniture and had agreed that I should purchase some. A pending sale was advertised in a local paper. It would begin at a given time on a Thursday.

The beginning was given between my two jobs and due to weather I was released from the early job four hours early. Rather than drive the thirty miles home and then back again I went to the store that had advertised the sale and waited the time for it to begin.

The owner did ask why I was hanging about the store as he went to and fro setting up for the sale. He asked that as he was setting up the display near me of the item I wanted. I told him I was waiting for the sale to start unless he wanted to sell me that item then for the sale price.

He said that I’d have to wait for the sale.

So I waited until five minutes before the sale and left for the second job, early.

What reminded me of that bit of insanity was something read and thought years ago now:

Hermione — whose quick wits get the teen wizards out of many a scrape in Rowling’s hit novels — would have been better off with hero Harry, the British author said in comments published by the Sunday Times newspaper.

In fact, Ron and Hermione would likely have ended up in marriage counselling, Rowling suggested.

http://news.yahoo.com/hermione-married-harry-potter-rowling-admits-010027466.html

Enough to make a man stop reading. Or work only one job. I didn’t get the item, ever. I quit both jobs. I lost the wife. I never got the point of Hermione settling for someone else.

I did figure out that some of it was within my power to control. Some wasn’t.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

