Friday, December 27, 2013

Why should it surprise me, two days after Christmas, to hear the TV announcers saying Happy New Year?

And why am I bored finding ESPN running “Best of . . .” the holiday week of Christmas and New Years when everyone that is someone is on vacation (or at least suffering hangovers from the office parties).

Umph.

Anyhow. I tracked down the glitch in the property tax. “It was suppose to be in the same envelope this was in”. Well. It wasn’t. But the lady used the summary with my tax code on it and pretty well ruined my day telling me the governments expectations.  I paid up.

That’ll be it for another year. The school sent around a survey a month ago. They wanted to know what they should spend money on. There was no option for nothing. Next year school taxes will more than double.

It would be nice to get something back from that.

But there is little hope of that.

Skip/Change.

There was a house fire Christmas Day. The department was a bit late getting there.

Change back again.

While I was at the Court  House about the taxes, I popped into the Extension Office. The lady wanted me to talk trees, which is what I’d stopped in to check on, with the man. But the man was on vacation.

She did tell me the State had sent out the new listing of trees available for March delivery.

Now for you to really get the feel of what I was faced with, you must imagine a room twenty five feet by twenty five feet. The room is filled with filing cabinets. boxes three feet tall and four feet long filled with paper, a couple of desks and a table with attendant chairs for twelve.

The lady said for her to tell me what trees were available she’d have to go on line and check with the University. The brochures hadn’t gotten to her yet, she didn’t think, and it was quicker on line. They didn’t do paper anymore.

I told her to just give me the addy of the place she would have checked and I could go home, change back into my ‘jammies and check it myself. So she did.

Before I could get away from the crowded place she led the way back to the copy machine (a really snazzy new thing) and told me she was copying one of the brochures I’d asked for.

We were standing beside nine five drawer filing cabinets. I asked her, meaning no offense, that if they’d gone paperless, why did they need all those cabinets?

She said: “Oh. Most of them are empty.”

One wonders what true pressure would reveal.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

