Tuesday, November 19, 2013

All most caught up with all the on-line chores.

Tuesday, last week, the net began dropping off line. I put up with it as it was intermittent. Thursday it became really bad and Friday impossible.

I called the center repair late Friday and was run through the procedures. Disconnect this, wait this long and so forth. Explanations as to it not being my equipment were futile. Having had the experiences before it took some time to reach the end of my patience. It did occur, however.

I waited until Monday, called the center and lost the remaining shreds of my dignity. Three hours later two techs showed up and two hours after that I was on the net again, trying to catch up.

One area of amusement: one of the techs I’ve known for twenty years. He told me that if the light on the modem were missing or blinking, it wasn’t my equipment that was bad. It was a company problem.

Just before leaving the village he stopped back and told me that he’d found water in the filter and line about half a mile from me. Being that I’m the very last user on the system on that line, I’d probably been the one with voltage drop sufficient to  complain about.

Vindicated, am I. And also the only one to complain.

Not sure I like that aspect.

Attempted to assist a grandmother’s son install a washer/dryer in the grandmothers 2nd floor wash room by using the tractor to lift the equipment to the balcony. The grandsons told each other that the dryer was tied to the bucket and up I sent it.

A grand son slipped, the dryer slipped, the grandson sat down in the bucket the dryer fell to earth. Bent hell out of one corner.

I suggested to the grandmother she get another neighbor with a larger tractor. And left.

Last night about nine p.m. a grand daughter showed up and handed me some cookies. She informed me that grandmother had baked them and was giving them to me for “trying” to help her.

Those are going to be some dry cookies.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Whiskey

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

