Saturday, August 06, 2011

Now, that was fun.

http://i.doubt.it/2011/08/06/you-are-trapped-in-a-bubble-2/ was talking about the bias of search engines; explaining how the search engine you use will tailor its presentation to queries after a period of time to your taste, not giving opposing views or contrary information.

The article mentioned several possible work around methods to Google, Bing and Yahoo. One of the links given was DuckDuckGo. It thing would not give Google an ISP address, therefore the information would not be tailored to your normal search engine patterns.

I checked the hit page of Blogger, put the link of StartingPage (one of the articles recommended work around sites), inserted  one of my blog addresses, and quick as a snake received the current entry blog page.

Backing out of it, I checked my Blogger Stat page and I had not received a hit. What’s that prove?

Well. I have the thing set to not record hits if I show up wanting to read my own blog (yes, I do read my own blog after publishing it with Windows Live Writer, It is the best means I’ve found to control my silliness and you learn from your errors. Well some of us do). So if a non-specific address shows up wanting a read, it should show up as a hit. But didn’t.

And I began having fantasy mind games. Would Google count a hit if a non-addressed peek hit the blog? How about, if the search site hit the blog and Google recognized the search engine address that doesn’t give ISP addresses of its users, and Google doesn’t like not knowing the searchers ISP, would they count as a hit someone they didn’t like – after all, all users of the internet must have addresses, even search engines; or do they?

I’m cursed with circular imagination. I think I’ll call it Mobius Thought. Circular for certain, despite the convolutions getting from Point A to Point A.

photoshare Well Placed Lily St Paul MN LightSmith 

Lightning everywhere. The Dog Puppy greeted me in a subdued fashion, the calves; black on black out there behind the work shop shuffled just enough to be heard and snuffled to let me know they were there and acknowledge my presence. Quiet reigns over the village.

The coffee this morning is warm, bitter and good.

I won five bucks on the imaginary world of robotic poker before bedding myself last night.

Dawn is now seeping across the Eastern sky – slowly.

_____

From the reaches,

Ten Mile

About tenwhiskey

User tenwhiskey is also the author of this blog. He currently lives in small town Kansas in a semi-retired condition. His kids are married and gone (thank you). An empty nester. Divorced. Very happy with life as it is. Ten Mile maintains a personal blog here, writing of events as they appear to him; commentary, and opinions abound. He deviates into fiction as the mood strikes and creates flash fiction stories and short stories. He will not warn the reader when he drifts from fact to fiction. He feels adults are, generally, smart enough to figure out which is which. He does, however, attempt to make his fiction sound as true to life as possible. You have been warned. He, as time permits, writes and occasionally sells writing. More often than not he gives it away to various non-paying publishers of Ether Magazines, forums or for entertainment on a wall for in need of a hand friends. He likes candy, pies and a certain amount of strife. In the matter of strife - in his yourth on the farm, he became embroiled in a slinging fight. The fight involved lath as a launcher, fresh cow patties as ammo and it was a six way free for all. A little mud only adds (Umm?) a certain taste to life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

